Saga of the Jasonite

The continuing adventures of that eternal man of mystery…

My new project

2 Comments

Isn’t she a beauty?

For all those following my blog (yep, both of you) please be aware I’ve decided to embark on an ambitious project! Okay, well, ambitious for me. So, my favorite television show of all time is Star Trek: The Next Generation. It first came on in September of 1987, when I was 12 years old. I was hooked from the first episode and ended up recording every single one on our old VCR. Every Saturday night without fail I’d be planted in front of the TV, recording the episodes and editing out the commercials, although in retrospect it’s pretty funny to go back and see those 80’s and early 90’s commercials nowadays.

Anyway, I loved it. I grew up with this show and even the silliness of the first season is watched through the lens of childhood nostalgia. Several years after the show ended they released many of the episodes on VHS, at a considerable fee. I bought them. Then they were released in boxed sets on DVD back in 2002. In fact not many people realize that one of the main reasons TV shows began to see widespread release on DVD was because of the success of ST:TNG’s boxed sets. They weren’t cheap, each season was no less than $100! Still, it was worth it, and the DVD sales were very successful.

It goes without saying that I watched all the episodes numerous times. I’ve seen interviews, discussed the characters and plots with friends and yes, even attended a Star Trek convention once. I met Q! Anyway, Paramount and CBS have begun releasing the shows on Blu Ray and it didn’t take me too long to decide to get them. I’ve been a fan of Blu Ray technology for a long time and once I saw some samples of the restoration process and results for the show, I was completely sold. I began thinking, I don’t have a job right now, I do know quite a bit about this show, why don’t I write episodic reviews? So that’s what  I’ve done. I’ve added a tab at the top of my blog and have started writing reviews of the episodes of the first season. My hope is to add one or two a day, but honestly I’ll probably just add them as regularly as I feel like doing so, but I do plan on finishing up season one sometime before season two is released on December 4th. Please feel free to take a look and tell me what you think! I’ve searched the web and can’t really find any sites that have reviews with the kind of content I plan on offering.

My reviews contain the synopsis of the episode, an analysis of the plot, my favorite scenes, how the cast was used in that episode, what differences the Blu Ray version includes, nitpicks of my own, my overall impression and rating of the episode, some behind the scenes information and thoughts on whether the casual viewer is recommended to see it or not. I aim to be pretty comprehensive, and over time to include all 176 episodes of the series. It’s fun and while I absolutely love the show, I have no problem with pointing out its warts as well. Hope you enjoy it, I’m sure I will!

2 thoughts on “My new project

  1. Fun! With the 25th’s anniversary of the show just having passed, I started doing the same (or similar) thing. I guess one of the big differences with me is that I haven’t seen most of these episodes since they came out. I’m further along than you but you may be getting done faster than me. A quick scan of your comments shows me that I’m not in complete agreement with you regarding individual episode, but I guess it would have been pretty strange if we had been.

    • Thanks for commenting! I took a look at a few of your reviews and enjoyed how you organized them and the insightful comments you made. It’s nice to meet a fellow TNG reviewer 🙂

Leave a Reply

